RSS

First Impression – Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

11 Apr

Summary:

Even though Ritsu Onodera hates to rely on family connections, he winds up taking a job as an editor at his parents’ company, Marukawa Books. To his chagrin, he’s assigned to the shoujo manga department in spite of having no interest or experience in it. And on top of that, he has an awful first impression of his high-handed editor in chief, Masamune Takano. What comes after is a story of first love full of tears and laughter.

(source http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/)

Opening:

(will upload later)

Closing:

(will upload later)

My Opinion Thus Far:

Ok, so I admit that BL (boy love) animes are not my thing and I’ve never actually watched one.  Since I am awesome, when Jay asked  me to watch this one, I gave it a chance.  Honestly, it surprised me.  On several occasions I found myself laughing out loud at the main characters inner monologue and the situations he found himself in.   So far the characters are pretty likable and what thing I particularly enjoy is that it’s not set in high school.  Aside from the sparkly flashback moment of his first love, we see the views of a jaded adult who seems to not believe in love and his comments are usually hilarious.

The main character wants to be an editor of literature in his own right, and at his previous job, many people felt like his connection to his father (the owner of the book publishing company) was the reason he got better authors to edit.  So trying to make his own accomplishments he quits and gets a new job at a different publishing company.  Instead of literature though, he is thrown into the manga department and he immediately despises it and claims that he knows nothing about romance.  He is thrown to the wolves as apparently during the period when a deadline is coming up, the “emerald” department is avoided like the plague.  For good reason.  There he meets the editor-in-chief (who turns out to be his high school crush !gasp!shock!surprise!) and the overly sparkly/happy co-workers.  Within his first day of work he is kissed by the editor-in-chief for “reference” for a manga artist (haha) and called useless by same editor-in-chief.  Other than that, it doesn’t seem to jump into the romance too fast.

I’ll admit, I’d be willing to watch more of this.  It seems to be a realistic-paced romance and I’m curious to see how things go.  I get the feeling he’ll actually decide to keep his job (instead of finding an excuse to quit in two weeks).  The art is very crisp and clean, very pretty.

Of course if BL isn’t your thing, I don’t recommend it, but honestly I think it’s worth a chance.  It’s got a lot of humor and likable characters.  I’m a romantic sap so I love romance and so far I don’t mind that it’s BL.  It’s not really over-powering and it seems like it’ll be more gradual than instantaneous which is good.  I’ll be following this one so I’ll get around to a review of this and the OVA eventually once it’s done.

My Rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

 
